Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

LDStorymakers Writing Conference May 12, 2014

 I just returned from the best weekend! I was at an amazing conference – LDStorymakers.

I learned so much – I will be sharing some things in the coming weeks- and had a great time hanging out with other crazy people that love writing!

Publication Primer Group

 This is my ‘Publication Primer’ group. It is a type of intensive critique group with a published author as a mentor. We lucked out and had two wonderful author/instructors: Renee Collins and Tyler Jolley. I had a great time meeting the other writers in my group and reading the beginnings to their stories. 

 

IMG_0340_fix

 

Yay for writing buddies! These are some of the amazing people I have met through the iwritenetwork.com chatroom. We meet in there and brainstorm, chat, or sprint (set a time limit and see how much writing/editing/whatever we can finish in that time and then check back in). It was really fun to hang out with them in person. 

It is also one of the very few pictures I took at the conference. I always think ‘Oh, I will get my picture taken with the authors that I fangirl’ and then I get there and don’t even ask for a photo while they sign my books. Maybe someday I will remember/dare pull out the camera :D.

 

One thing I always do at these conferences. . . buy books. Seriously. I saved my Christmas monies.

To give you an idea of my. . . problem (I don’t have a problem!):

This is a picture of my ‘to read’ bookcase in my room. Keep in mind that it only shows the front layer, there is another set of books behind the ones you can see. That doesn’t count the pile in the library I still need to read either, or the ebooks. *sigh*

To read

So, what do I do?

 

new shiny books

I bring home a literal bag of new (signed!) books.

They followed me home! Honest 🙂

But really, how can you resist a new book? What I need now, is time to read!

 

What books/movies/hobbies do you like to look forward to?

 

 

 

3 Responses to “LDStorymakers Writing Conference”

  1. Wow, you have a lot of reading to do! 🙂 Looks like a fun group of people.

    Like

    • Alison Says:

      I know! I need to start chipping away at the reading pile. It was a great group of people and I learned lots 🙂

      Like

  2. Jessica Says:

    I’m totally using the “They followed me home!” line next time I go to the bookstore. lol. Nice haul, btw! And don’t worry. I have shelves and an ebook just like yours. It’s a problem I willing admit too. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your follow up blogs!

    Like


Leave a Reply

