Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

I am pitifully behind on my NaNo word count November 14, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 2:20 pm
Tags: , ,

I am pitifully behind on my NaNo word count, and I’m okay with that. I am pitifully behind on my NaNo word count, and I’m okay with that.

Maybe if I repeat it enough I will start to believe it.

 

Yes, this is kind of what I feel about my word count right now.

Yes, this is kind of what I feel about my word count right now.

 

In my head, the day “Saturday” means extra time to write. (Insert chuckle here) For example, last Saturday, I went to work in the morning, harvested my grapes in the afternoon, and helped a family member in the evening.

Word Count = 0

Thing is, I regret none of it.

 

Life has to happen and life needs to be enjoyed too. If you do nothing but write, soon you will have nothing to write about. Sometimes you have to experience things to understand them or to relate to what someone else may be going through.

Honestly though, if I load too much anxiety into my word count results I will start to dread NaNo and anything associated with it. Pretty soon I would hate November. (Like I have done with Christmas)

So, I have learned a few more things about myself. And really, I feel like I am learning and re-learning the same lessons over and over again. I still have two jobs, five kids, and a lot of obligations. I can, and do sometimes, use those as excuses. However, I see my friends with a lot more on their plate getting their words done (in record speed).

I will always have the life requirements and obligations, even when NaNo is done.So what I need to do is learn how to manage my time better (along with not comparing myself to others 😉 )so that I can consistently write every day. THAT is what I would like to learn from NaNo (along with finishing my current WIP): writing daily.

That would be the real prize and one that I could feel good about.

A friend recently posted a quote on Facebook. It said:

“Giving up on your goal because of one setback is like slashing your other three tires because you got a flat.”

So I have stopped slashing the tires and won’t give up on NaNo completely. However, I will be focusing on my process instead of output.

So you all hang in there too. With whatever your current goal is in life, don’t slash your tires!

 

Leave a Reply

