Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

(Alphabe-Thursday:L) L is for Love (Lust) December 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 12:34 am
Tags: ,

This is for Alphabe-Thursday on Jenny Matlock’s blog. You should check out the other entries too!

I enjoy a good romance in my stories. I don’t like ‘romance’ stories per say, where the entire story is the romance, but I like the relationships to help add another layer to the stories. I do avoid those stories where things are too graphic. I think it pulls away from the story. So with that in mind,  I did put lust in parenthesis on purpose. First, to me love is a many layered thing. There are depths to love that are unending. However, that first kiss always has an element of lust to it. (Unless, of course, the kiss isn’t wanted. But that is a different story.) That chemical response is an important part of making the connection that can develop into love. So my entry today is a little peek into that first kiss.

This is a couple of friends that have just been through an ordeal together. They have escaped intact and are saying goodbye after the adventure.

“I can’t let you leave without telling you this.”  Lilly stepped up to Graydon, grabbed the front of his T-shirt, and pulled him to her.

Her face neared his and she paused a moment before their lips actually met. He was frozen, not moving at all. She took a deep breath and then slowly touched her lips to his. Graydon hesitated, but when there were no comments from the people walking past, he melted into the kiss with a deep sigh.

He buried one hand in her hair, holding her head, and placed the other on her lower back, pulling her closer to him. His grip was surprisingly intense. Not a bad surprise, but one none the less. His lips remained soft, gentle, and questing. After a moment, Lilly pulled back to look at him, searching his face for something.

A slow smile spread across his face as he opened his eyes to look at her. Those eyes that had deepened to a midnight-dark took her breath away. “Well,” he whispered, his voice rough. “That wasn’t really one of the things I imagined you would say to me after today. I thought you would yell at me for being an idiot.”

“I still might do that.” Lilly attempted a light tone, but she was glad he still held her in his arms, not sure if she could yet stand on her own.

“As well you should. And I would be glad to listen to all of it,” He glanced at her lips again, “If we could return to this conversation again as well.” He briefly kissed the corner of her mouth.

“I believe that could be arranged.” Lilly said with a giggle.

 

8 Responses to “(Alphabe-Thursday:L) L is for Love (Lust)”

  1. Judie Says:

    Oh! What a great kiss! What a great story!!

    Like

  2. Paige Says:

    I love this. 🙂 I really do.

    Like

  3. happymrsc Says:

    i have chills down my back! That is so sexy…kinda like the old timey movies that I love to watch. In the Movie, What Women Want, the scene where they are kissing in the jazz bar is sexy without being tacky, your writing is like that. So glad you shared

    Like

  4. H Says:

    Awww! That’s so sweet! I love the way he started off embarrassed. Typical bloke!!

    Like

  5. Ames Says:

    Steamy! You fogged up my monitor! :)~Ames

    Like

  6. Oh my, (fanning face with small, ladylike fan), you make my heart beat a little faster!

    love it!

    xxoo,

    RMW

    Like

  7. Don’t stop now! ha That was pretty intense and you are a great writer.

    Like

  8. You are such a wonderful story teller. I love the way you write.

    I apologize for visiting so late. My days got away from me.

    But please accept my A+ along with many holiday wishes for joy and peace for you and all your loved ones!

    Like


Leave a Reply

