Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

(Alphabe-Thursday:E) E is for Ennui October 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 9:02 pm
Tags: ,

E is for Ennui

I know, you are here you find out what ‘ennui’ is. This is an Alphabe-Thursday entry for Jenny Matlock’s blog.

The funny thing is, when I was trying to think of an emotion to write about for ‘E’, the word ‘Ennui’ popped into my head.

So did ‘elephant’, but that typically isn’t a feeling or an emotion.

Oh, I could probably argue it and say that after Thanksgiving dinner you might feel ‘elephant’, but that would be stretching it. So I went with the other random word.

And yes, I had to look up the definition too to make sure I was on the right track.

The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines ennui as such:

 

Ennui: a feeling of weariness and dissatisfaction: boredom

 

So there you have the ‘what’, now for my portrayal of it – inspired by my class on Tuesday.

~~~~~~

Micah’s eyes were drooping and her head nodded while the professor continued to drone on in front of the class. Micah checked her watch.

Forty-five more minutes?!  I will never make it. She tried to listen to the lecture. She took a few notes and then began doodling on the paper. Her seat was hard and uncomfortable. She shifted around to try to find a better position. Tapping her pencil on her other hand, she looked at her watch again.

Forty-four minutes?! Seriously. I am never going to take another class this long again. A two-and-a-half hour class gives way too much information all at once. She sighed and tried to listen again.

I wonder what Devin is doing right now? Maybe I’ll text him and find out. She slid her phone out and, under the table, texted her friend.

Okay, so now what? She made another attempt at listening, her foot tapping out of desperation for something to do. She started to plan out her schedule for the weekend on her note paper.

At least I look like I’m taking notes. When that was done she put down her pencil and stared up at the board. The professor was still explaining an image of the microcirculation in the blood.

How can she talk so much? Doesn’t she get bored too? Micah’s head was feeling heavy so she leaned against her hand. I’ll just close my eyes for a second…

The sound of closing books and moving chairs startled Micah back to reality. Class was over, finally.

 

14 Responses to “(Alphabe-Thursday:E) E is for Ennui”

  1. Jackie Says:

    eh sounds like a college or university class that I have never had the kind of ennui of knowing . good post .

    Like

  2. Diane Miller Says:

    Since the class you were teaching was the inspiration for this, I think Micah must have been in another class.

    Like

  3. Yanet Says:

    Educational, just like it should be for the THursday class! Kitties look comfy no matter where they lay. 🙂

    Like

  4. mub Says:

    Great post, I love learning new words!

    Like

  5. Judie Says:

    I had a telephone call this morning that put me in Micah’s place for sure. I thought I was going into a coma before I finally got a word in edgewise and told the caller I really had to go. Ennui indeed!!!

    Like

  6. Leslie Says:

    Hahaha…been there. Keep up the writing and happy Alphabethursday. Thanks for stopping and commenting on my post! Peace out!

    Like

  7. It’s Friday afternoon and I have ennui all over the place!

    Like

  8. Sue Anderson Says:

    That’s how I felt when I took statistics. Ennui to the max.

    😉

    Like

  9. Oh dear…I have to admit a bit of ennui during a class…

    The kitties look very relaxed…boredom? or just a state of natural “kittiness”? Cute!

    Blessings & Aloha!

    Like

  10. Just wanted to stop back again to say thank you so much for dropping over and leaving your kind comment.

    Blessings & Aloha!

    Like

  11. Keri Says:

    I think I’ve been in a few classes like that! I once took Old Testament History as a night class – 3 hours all at once. Zzz…

    Like

  12. I want ennui. I want my life to to slow down enough so that I can experience this again!

    This was a great stop on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday.

    It’s been a long time since I’ve been in school but I do remember sleeping through a math class or two on occasion!

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

    Like

  13. Susan G Says:

    cool…how do you pronounce ennui??
    Susan

    Like


Leave a Reply

