Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

(Alphabe-Thursday:D) D is for Depression October 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 9:11 pm
Tags: ,

This is my next entry in the Alphabe-Thursday on Jenny Matlock’s blog. (you should check out the other entries too) I decided to try writing different emotions for each letter to practice capturing those emotions on paper. This is “D is for Depression” and before you ask, I am fine – thanks.

 

 

Depression

It’s not about sadness. Sadness is easy.

It’s emptiness. Whatever passed as my heart/soul/essence has been shredded and scooped out.

It is apathetic, hollow deadness.

It isn’t always the same: sometimes it is worse.

Add to the emptiness all the feelings of negativity you can imagine:

Irritation, self-pity, self-loathing, insanity, disgust, rage –

All rolling around inside like smoke spiraling in a moon-dark sky.

Sometimes it is just the emptiness.

It really isn’t about sadness.

 

23 Responses to “(Alphabe-Thursday:D) D is for Depression”

  1. Judie Says:

    Great job on this.
    I know you are not depressed–you have such a happy smile!

    Like

  2. Gattina Says:

    I know very well this feeling I suffered from seasonal depressions for years and always in fall !

    Like

  3. stef Says:

    Oh, I remember a couple of years ago when I suffered with depression. It is a horrible thing. So painful. Even now just thinking about going to that place again scares me and amazes me that I made it through. It isn’t about sadness…its about emptiness. Great ABC post!

    Like

  4. Write Chick Says:

    This was a great explanation of depression. I love how you began with “I”m fine, thanks.” Hahaha. People were sure to wonder. Great post!

    Like

  5. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    You did a wonderful job describing something that is so complicated.

    Like

  6. Jen Says:

    Tough subject.
    I like the idea of discussing emotions here.
    I’m glad you are feeling fine!
    Enjoy your day!

    Like

  7. Christy Says:

    You did a great job of showing us what depression is. Thanks.

    Like

  8. Love it…

    Having had a few bouts with depression myself (not now, doing ok right now), you have captured it quite well.

    love the pic also!

    Like

  9. jo Says:

    love the photo you chose to go with this post … and yeah, having a major in depression … i can tell you that you did a great job of capturing it … it isn’t sadness … its being utterly empty … great post!

    Like

  10. Jingle Says:

    mist, depression,
    well defined in your poem.
    very sharp and brilliant D post.

    Like

  11. Sue Anderson Says:

    I get depressed every now and again, especially since my kids flew the nest. So emptiness is a good way of describing it, for me. Once in awhile, I have to remind myself of the things that still fill me.

    =)

    Like

  12. mub Says:

    I think people don’t always get that it’s not “about sadness.” I really like how you expressed that.

    Like

  13. jen Says:

    Great job. It’s hard to capture that feeling when you’re not there. Impressive.

    Like

  14. Yanet Says:

    Great idea for Alphabe Thursday theme. I love yo how described depression. And I love how you prefaced it by saying, I’m fine. thanks.

    Like

  15. Tweety Says:

    Great post…and perfectly portrayed..its not sadness..its emptiness…void of everything…

    Like

  16. Ames Says:

    I think you are right on the mark with this description. I should know…been there done that! Great post!~Ames

    Like

  17. I have always battled depression…..the picture you used is perfect……it is such a rotten thing to go through!

    Like

  18. Great insight and explanation in your words.
    Thank you also for stopping by my post while I was on vacation. Please come back any time :o)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    After returning from our visit with family, it was straight to work, but I had yesterday and today off from work, so I hope to get caught up on some blog reading.

    Like

  19. Olivia Says:

    superbly written this one- I like to read about sadness, emptiness.. coz I too write about such wasted emotions.. 😀

    Like

  20. Olivia Says:

    Hello,
    How are you?

    I invite you to join our poetry community at http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/,
    It would be great for you to take a look at our playground, sign in to follow if you wish,
    our major event is Monday Poetry Potluck, you are encouraged to link in one of your favorite poem, or write a poem over the weekend that is related to our theme, (week 6 is seven sins), hope to see you stop by, do let us know when you do and leave us a note so that one of our officials gets back to you….

    Our Monday poetry potluck is open from Sunday 8pm to Wednesday, 8am. you have 60 hours to submit one quality poem and share.
    Writing your entry ahead of the time and link in as early as possible would get you more traffic and is strongly recommend…please let me know via email if you have further questions…

    Happy Weekend.
    U Rock!

    Like

    • jennymatlock Says:

      Wow. This was so poignant and evocative of what the emotion does feel like.

      I think we’ve all been there to some degree or another.

      How amazing that you captured it so well.

      Thanks for sharing your talents with us on this thought-provoking link to Alphabe-Thursday.

      A+

      Like

  21. Jingle Says:

    Welcome to our potluck party by linking in a poem, old one works well. Thanks!
    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-seven-deadly-sins.html

    hope to see you in.
    old poem would work too.
    BEST!
    u rock.

    Like

    • Alison Says:

      I am extremely flattered by the invitation, thanks! But I have a confession. I’m really not a poet. Typically the idea of writing a poem makes me panic. So I probably won’t post anything, but I would love to come and read everyone’s poems. Thanks again!

      Like


Leave a Reply

