Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

Saturday Centus: “If I had a hammer. . .” October 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 1:57 pm
Tags: ,

Saturday Centus post for Jenny Matlock’s blog

Saturday Centus rules: You can use UP to 100 words to tell your story. The prompt does not count for your 100 words AND it must be left intact in the body of your story. No illustrations are permitted. Your story can be fact or fiction, just keep it PG, please!

This story is because apparently I have October on the brain. I  put the prompt in red.

~~~~~

The sound of shuffling footsteps and dripping water echoed through the cavern.  A table in the center of the room contained a large, sheet-covered shape.

“Not right!”  The lab-coat clad scientist pulled his hair. The shuffling footsteps paused, a hesitant voice responded.

“Sir? Is there a problem?”

This is the problem!” He threw the sheet back from the experiment, exposing the woman on the table.

“She’s beautiful.” The assistant said with a sigh as he cringed.

“You brought me the wrong ears! How can we infiltrate the beauty pageant circuit now? If only,” He tipped his head and squinted.  “If I had a hammer . . .”

 

18 Responses to “Saturday Centus: “If I had a hammer. . .””

  1. Sue Anderson Says:

    Nice direction to take, with Halloween on the horizon!

    =)

    Like

  2. Ames Says:

    Whoa! Creepy! I do watch way too much Criminal Minds!! Good use of the prompt!~Ames

    Like

  3. October and Halloween Yes!! A little bit of Frankenstins monster here too. So good and so creepy!
    Best wishes,
    Anna

    Anna’s SC Week 23

    Like

  4. Cheryl Says:

    This is disturbing in a fun way. Nice use of the prompt.

    Like

  5. Terra Says:

    I heard on teh radio recently that having your ears sculpted like elf ears is a new craze….beyond all piercings. So reading this made me think of that and how stinking weird it would be…I know I am weird, but I liked where your story took me. (though I have NO intentions of having my ears sculpted)

    Like

  6. Judie Says:

    Much creepier than my entry! GOOD WRITING!!

    Like

  7. jfb57 Says:

    Oh bless those scientists! Hee hee!

    Like

  8. Deborah Says:

    Excellent, completely different take on the prompt :o)

    Like

  9. Viki Says:

    I loved this take on the prompt. How fun. It sounds like something out of a Halloween movie, ha. Good job.

    Like

  10. jeff Says:

    Very crafty…not the right ears…funny…Peace

    Like

  11. Kat Says:

    This made me laugh out loud. “Infiltrate the beauty pageant circuit”. Very clever use of the prompt!

    Like

  12. jennymatlock Says:

    I love it! Love it! I didn’t see this one coming at all…what a clever girl you are. Such word imagery and imagination. Wow.

    You are a master!

    Thank you for linking.

    Like

  13. Tina Says:

    Uw very eerie. Reminds me of Frankinstein woa ha har!

    Tina from Mummy Diaries

    Like

  14. cjschlottman Says:

    oooooohhh……creepy and creative. you really had me going. great post – so visual with concrete audibles. love it.

    thanks……….cj

    Like

  15. Jingle Says:

    love your humor.

    Like

  16. Jingle Says:

    To link in a poem to our potluck today, click here:
    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-seven-deadly-sins.html

    thanks for the support.
    Happy Monday!

    Like


Leave a Reply

