Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

Saturday Centus October 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 9:05 am
Tags: ,

Saturday Centus Rules: A prompt is given (from Jenny Matlock’s blog), and you must write 100 words about the prompt.

Normally the prompt doesn’t count in the word count, but this time it is a visual prompt so it obviously doesn’t.

“How about this pumpkin?”

“No. Too small,” she tipped her head sideways to look.

“This one?” He asked, desperation creeping into his voice.

“No. Do you see that soft spot underneath? It will rot too quickly.”

“I found the perfect pumpkin!”

She gasped, “Are you kidding? That one is way too big.”

“How can it be too big?” He wrinkled his nose.

“Because I know that I will be the one cleaning out all the seeds,” her shiny black nose and whiskers trembled, “and we certainly don’t need all that space for our furniture.”

 

9 Responses to “Saturday Centus”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Oh I absolutely loved this, really really!! just wonderful :o)

    Like

  2. Rocki Bottom Says:

    Ha! Love the twist! not what i was picturing at all. Good one!

    Like

  3. cjschlottman Says:

    You got me going here! Mice? I’m intrigued and impressed with your way with words.

    Thanks………..cj

    Like

  4. 00dozo Says:

    Never take a man to go shopping with you. This was fun! And you also got me going – I’m guessing mice too.
    šŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Viki Says:

    this was great. A fresh new perspective. I loved it.

    Like

  6. Kat Says:

    Oh I LOVED this! What a creative use of the prompt. I can just see those little whiskers twitching in dismay šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. jennymatlock Says:

    You are totally clever!

    I loved it! I can see this little story and a charming pen and ink illustration to go hand in hand with your clever words.

    I really enjoyed this surprise of a story.

    Thank you for linking.

    Like

  8. Ames Says:

    This was just too cute!~Ames

    Like


Leave a Reply

