Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

Aaaannnd I’m back! February 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 8:43 pm
Tags: ,

First, an update on which books I have read.

Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Death Masks (Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher
The Cabinet of Wonders (The Kronos Chronicles:Book 1) by Marie Rutoski
Alcatraz versus the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson
Blood Rites (Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher

So, I have been a bit non-existent as far as this blog is concerned. Mostly because I have had nothing to say. (A shock, I know.) But, there have been some interesting developments that I would like to share. I was at a sort of impasse with my story. I knew it didn’t sing to me like the books that I love to read, and yet I didn’t know how to proceed. I didn’t know how to fix my mess.

So, I decided to have someone look at it. I sent it off to an editor that does some freelance work. And I just got it back the other day. It looked like it was bleeding from every paragraph due to the amount of comments written. It was a bit overwhelming, and at first it was also disheartening.

However, as I read the comments and the report that she sent along with the story it all clicked for me. I found myself saying ‘Oh, I should have caught that.’ Or, ‘I would have thought that same thing if it was someone else’s story.’ As I have thought about it over the past few says, it has started to blossom in my mind and I’m excited about it again. I can see places to enrich and better. It’s kind of fun.

I do believe that one problem I had was that I eliminated a lot of knowledge the reader needs in order to have an ‘exciting’ beginning. I was trying to jump into the action and not doing a good job of it. So I think my first thing I will do is look at beginnings. I’m going to go through some of my favorite books and look at how they start. Do a bit of research. POV, background, opening lines, that sort of thing.

I’ll let you know what I find.

 

Leave a Reply

