Peering into . . .

the inner workings of Alison Miller Woods

Sunday Scribblings- "Misspent Youth" November 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 2:18 pm
Tags:

This week’s theme is “Misspent Youth”. I will admit that the first thing to pop in my mind was the image that comprises the second paragraph, but I decided I had better do a legitimate response as well.

When I think back on my youth I realize that I wouldn’t want to trade what I have and go back. Don’t get me wrong, I had a great childhood. And the parts that weren’t great, taught me great things. Perhaps the one way I feel I misspent my youth is in not having the courage to take more chances. It is a lesson I am still (in my almost mid-thirties) trying to learn. I was a nerd (still am) and I learned not to give up the things I wanted most for the things I wanted at the moment. School came first and I am grateful for that. I learned that rejection doesn’t kill you, even though it may feel like it. I learned that I could find really good friends when I looked past appearances and looked inside. I learned that overcoming the fear of an audition was well worth the excitement of opening night. I only wish that I would have had the confidence in myself to reach out more. To stop being so preoccupied with my own shortcomings and look around. To reach out for new heights for myself and be brave enough to help someone else reach those heights as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thorfit stepped away from the seller’s stall. As he left the ornately carved steps, returning to the smooth glass ground, a familiar scent caught his attention. Muttering to himself he began to go through his pockets, pulling out various jars and bottles. He uncorked one and breathed in carefully the scent. “Milk, crumbs, daisies, and wigglewort . . . this is a two year old.” The next bottle uncorked was responded to with, “Wind-up toys, dirt, violets, and fresh bread. . . this is one of my six year olds. But where is my other six-year old?” He stopped in realization as the shop behind him quickly closed its doors and shutters. “I gave them my six-year old instead of my four-year old. And I didn’t get my change.” He sighed in resignation as he started to walk away. “Oh how I hate it when I misspend my youth.”

 

5 Responses to “Sunday Scribblings- "Misspent Youth"”

  1. paisley Says:

    excellent story… i loved it.. short and sweet… just perfect….

    Like

  2. tumblewords Says:

    Great story! And great prose which came before…

    Like

  3. thorns Says:

    I love that little story.

    Like

  4. Patois Says:

    Delightful story!

    Like

  5. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    I enjoyed your story, it made me smile. I could relate to a lot of what you said in the personal part of this post too.

    Like


Leave a Reply

